Learn to Let Go

Hey everyone!

I know I just posted yesterday but since the other day, I have wanted to make a short post about this. Ever since I first heard Kesha’s new song Praying, I have been obsessed. As many of you know who have been following this blog for the past year and a half, I have been through some rough patches with one of my past relationships involving physical, sexual, verbal, and emotional abuse. Although that relationship has since been squashed over two years ago, it still effects me today and I think about it regularly. When I first heard Kesha’s song Praying, I was practically in tears. It was so powerful and relatable to me and I was immediately hooked. If you have not yet heard it, I highly recommend giving it a listen. Every single lyric is so beautiful and speaks to me so much, I can’t even pick out a single line or verse because they are all so amazing. Both verses mean so much to me and I just can’t say enough good things about it.

While I’m on a roll talking about how amazing Kesha is, her other new song, Learn to Let Go, is equally, if not more, amazing than Praying. I heard it for the first time late last week and I had it on repeat ever since. Again, this song brings me back to my abusive past and has such an anthem feel to it that I can’t help but feel so powerful and optimistic about getting myself in a better place and letting go of all the toxic things that have happened to me in the past. The chorus is amazing and says the past can’t haunt me if I don’t let it, live and learn and never forget it, gotta learn to let it go. The second verse in the song speaks to me so much as though it is my toxic ex that I have talked so much about in previous posts and its crazy how much I feel like Kesha was inside my head when she was writing these lyrics. I feel like I want to post these lyrics all over all my social media sites and have them as a caption for every photo or status update, that’s how highly I think of these lyrics!

Music is such a beautiful escape and was definitely a large part of the excruciatingly long healing process for me. I wish I had these songs to listen to back then when I really needed it, but now these songs have me so motivated to better myself and take care of myself and let go of everything in every way I can. There’s no way I can forget the things that I have endured in the past and those things will undoubtedly effect my day to day life for a very long time, but I can choose to see the positive in every day, the positive in the people around me, and live each day to its fullest. I am now more motivated than ever to [finally] tell my mom about everything that has happened to me, which I believe will be a major step in the healing process.

Sorry for a heavier post after so many light updates, I just felt these songs were both very important and have a huge impact on me and I feel like they are both worth a listen if you haven’t heard them yet!

Leave a Reply

